Kennedy Center ASCAP Awards Ceremony

May 1, 2006 - Eddie Becker is handed ASCAP Songwriter Showcase Award

ascapshowcase saw image.png

As posted on the Songwriters' Association of Washington web site... 

The Kennedy Center was a "buzz of excitement" on May 1st as 13 local songwriters and singers took to the stage to perform their original music before a sold out crowd of over 400 people. Stephen Schwartz (composer for Wicked, Godspell, Pippin), our celebrity guest host, was exceptionally gracious, introducing our presenters and sitting with them on stage as they performed. He and Michael Kerker of ASCAP also thanked all the sponsors and announced that this showcase will become an "annual event" for ASCAP at the Kennedy Center. ASCAP and the Kennedy Center are "over the top" happy with this event and the relationship with SAW should continue in a very positive way.

Pictured at Right: Michael Kerker (ASCAP), Lynne Revo-Cohen (SAW), Stephen Schwartz (composer for Wicked, Godspell, Pippin), and Marlene Cooper (Kennedy Center)

Read the ASCAP Press Release...

As Seen in the Silver Spring, Maryland Gazette...Read the Article

As Seen in the Washington, DC Blues Society Newsletter & Calendar...Read the Article

Kennedy Center Awards Ceremony...View the Program


View More Photos...

The Winners Are:

- Norman Ball/Tom Saputo: "Space Between the Notes"
- Edward P. Becker: "The Blues Down In The Delta"
- Elliot Denniberg: "Don't Break My Heart Again"
- Janet Devers/Doug Stanglin: "Love Without Warning"
- Fred Hughes: "C'mon Let's Go"
- Paul Iwancio: "Morning Glories"
- David Lafleur: "Maria"
- John Luskey: "When She Cries It Rains"
- Steve Seskin/Paul Reisler: "No Sun Without Shadow"
- Dulcie Taylor: "Diamond and Glass"
- Jim Van Slyke: "Open Road"
- Jen Waters and Bob Farrell: "Yellow Roses"
- Mary Wood: "Simple"
- Brent Woodall: "Cabin Fever"

Home | Awards